Teaching Your Brain to Knit
Brainy Thing:     19.28                           Behind the Redwood Curtain:  29:14
What We’re Learning from Our Knitting
Catherine finished her Among the wildflowers bandana  cowl http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/among-the-wildflowers which was another opportunity to use beads.  She used Rizoni  yarn from  The loom   (The loombangkok.com).    Sasha Ball Rives http://www.ravelry.com/designers/sasha-ball-rives    was the designer of the free design.   In addition to designing, she owns the Stitch Space yarn shop in Missouri.
 
On her travels back home to help her mom pack up her house of 65 years, Margaret discovered several knitting pieces she has done over the year.   One was an amorphic scarf out of unidentified specialty acrylic yarn that was her first knitting project.   Another was Adele Cutten’s  http://www.ravelry.com/designers/adele-cutten   design Fine Shawl on Diagonal  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/fine-shawl-or-scarf-on-diagonal  out of Be Sweet Baby Mohair.  Her mother didn’t want it so Margaret got a new scarf.
 
Brainy Thing:   Knitting Wednesdays for Wounded Warriors at Walter Reed Hospital
Catherine tells us about the Wounded Warrior Knitting Wednesdays   http://www.oakleafdc.org/wounded-warrior-support/wednesday-knitting-classes at Walter Reed Hospital which is not to be confused with the better known Wounded Warrior Group.  
 
Behind the Redwood Curtain
There’s a statue of President McKinley standing smack dab in the middle of Arcata, CA.   Margaret tells us part of the story behind it.   One of her references is Roadside America.com   (http://www.roadsideamerica.com/
 
Knitting Tip
Catherine explains the value of making a sloper, or a model of more complicated knitted projects (sweaters and ponchos.)  
 
A Little Podcast Business
The ongoing challenge to join the Teaching Your Brain to Knit Ravelry Group ( http://www.ravelry.com/groups/teaching-your-brain-to-knit)      and to send in Knitting Tips continue.  
Direct download: Ep._037_Knitting_Wednesdays_for_Wounded_Warriors_-_4_16_16_6.42_PM.mp3
Category:general -- posted at: 11:18am PST

1